Toronto Breakdown

by Robyn

I’m home from my little jaunt in Toronto. Feeling fantastic considering having just had 80% of my back tattooed less than 3 days ago. I am feeling far better than expected, with my back feeling slightly stiff and not the least bit swollen or tender to the touch.

Here is a general breakdown of my trip costs. It’s not penny for penny, but thats just because I’m really lazy and I hate keeping track on paper of every dollar I spend. I’m better off with just a general average that I can calculate in my head.

RT Flight Winnipeg – Toronto: $378.00

The Only Backpacker Inn Hostel (1 night): $24.00

JacoB22 Bed & Breakfast (2 nights): $124.30

Seven Crowns Tattoo: $800 + $100 tip

Friday’s Lunch (soup-to-go + snack): $5.00

Friday’s Dinner (PizzaPizza): $5.50

Saturday’s Lunch (Sushi @ Ho Su Bistro on Queen): $12.00

Ice Cream & pop Saturday night: $6.00

TTC Fares/tokens (have one token remaining): $15.50

Give or take a few dollars, my total came to $1470.30 total spent for a RT flight to Toronto, with a 3 night stay in the city, steps away from public transportation and downtown and a $900 tattoo I now have permanently etched onto my body. That’s fantastic, considering the $900 spent on the tattoo came in under budget by $100 and the “tattoo money” has been sitting in my bank account well for over a year, so it doesn’t feel like an expense at all.

Not counting the cost of the tattoo, my long weekend in the city cost me less than $600. One evening was spent in a hostel 6 bed mixed dorm and included a full, hot, waffle breakfast with fresh fruit and coffee in the morning. The following two nights I was in a fantastic B&B, and an upgraded room from what I had originally booked, with a private balcony, ensuite and continental breakfast in the morning.

Aside from the time spent at the tattoo shop, I spent the remainder of my weekend perched in bed watching tv. I had general plans to wander the city a bit on Saturday afternoon but only lasted about 4 hours before getting bored and coming home for a nap. My weekend probably would have been much more exciting had it not been overcast and raining, but what can you do? I would have been nice to venture out to High Park (I’ve never been and would have liked to have seen the cherry blossoms) but I figured I would pass due to the threat of rain and lack of decent lighting for any good pictures.

I’ll admit, when I should have been out and about, doing more, I acted like quite a bit of a hermit this weekend. Keeping to myself when I should have been meeting up with friends and acquaintances in Toronto. But sometimes it better to take a vacation from everything, even people you haven’y seen in over  year. With the 70+ hour work week I had leading up this trip, I think my loner weekend was worth it for the rest and relaxation. Plus, the bed was really comfortable.

 

Leave a Reply

